New Zealand’s online Visa Program to strengthening ties with Brazil, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, and Mexico

May 09 20:55 2023
Citizens of Brazil, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, and Mexico can enter New Zealand for up to 90 days without a visa under the visa waiver program that began in 2009.

New Zealand has opened up its borders to international visitors with an easy to apply online process for entry requirements via the eTA or Electronic Travel Authorization. This regime was launched in August 2019 by the Government of New Zealand. The New Zealand eTA Visa allows residents of 60 Visa Waiver countries to acquire this Visa Online. New Zealand Visa Waiver countries are also known as Visa Free. This eTA Visa contributes to the International Visitor Conservation and Tourism Levy so that the Government can maintain and upkeep the environment and tourist places visited by visitors to New Zealand.

The visa waiver program aims to strengthen New Zealand’s ties with these countries and promote tourism and business opportunities. Brazil, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, and Mexico are all important trading partners for New Zealand, and the visa waiver is expected to facilitate greater economic cooperation between the countries.

All the passport holders can enter New Zealand on New Zealand Electronic Travel Authority (NZeTA) for a period of 90 days without obtaining a visa for New Zealand from these countries, under the visa waiver program that commenced in the years 2009. Since July 2019, travelers require an eTA for New Zealand.

A New Zealand Visa for Brazilian citizens, New Zealand Visa for Canadian citizens, New Zealand Visa for Hong Kong citizens,  New Zealand Visa for Japanese citizens and New Zealand Visa for Mexican citizens is not optional, but a mandatory requirement for all citizens traveling to the country for short stays. Before traveling to New Zealand, a traveler needs to ensure that the validity of the passport is at least three months past the expected departure date.

Only Australian Citizens are exempt, even Australian permanent residents are required to obtain an New Zealand Electronic Travel Authorization (NZeTA).

A New Zealand Visa for Canadian citizens is required for visits up to 90 days.

 Citizen’s departure date must be within 3 months of arrival. Additionally, citizen can visit only for 6 months in a 12 month period on an NZ eTA.

The passport holders are required to obtain a New Zealand Electronic Travel Authority (NZeTA) even for a short duration of 1 day up to 90 days. If the travelers intend to stay for a longer duration, then they should apply for a relevant Visa depending on their circumstances.

Upon receiving the New Zealand Visa travelers will be able to either present an electronic or paper copy to present to New Zealand border and immigration.

The new visa waiver program will take effect on June 1, 2023. Citizens of Brazil, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, and Mexico, who wish to visit New Zealand for longer than 90 days, or for purposes other than tourism or business, will still be required to obtain a visa.

Ensure that you have checked the eligibility for your New Zealand eTA. If you are from a Visa Waiver country then you can apply for an eTA regardless of the mode of travel (Air / Cruise). United States citizens, Canadian citizens, German citizens, and United Kingdom citizens can apply online for New Zealand eTA. United Kingdom residents can stay on New Zealand eTA for 6 months while others for 90 days.

 Please apply for a New Zealand eTA 72 hours in advance of your flight.

Media Contact
Company Name: New Zealand Visa
Contact Person: Support
Email: Send Email
Country: New Zealand